DWI Surcharges on Licenses
Surcharges on DWI’s
If your license is suspended due to surcharges and you live in Dallas County, we can help you get an Occupational License quickly and efficiently if you qualify. Call for a consultation to set the appointment and get your Occupational License.
Texas law applies “surcharges” to keep your license after a DWI. If you do not pay your surcharge, your license will be suspended. The notice of your surcharge, and how much and when you need to pay your surcharge will be sent to the address on your license. If you have moved and have not changed your address on your license, you will not receive the notice. The mail from the State of Texas asks that the notice “not” be forwarded to your forwarding address. The thought is that you are legally required to notify the State of Texas within 6 weeks of moving addresses, if you have not done so, you are in violation of Texas law and will not receive any notifications from the Texas DPS.
Surcharge amounts are:
1) $1000 each year for three years on your first DWI
2) $1500 each year for three years on any subsequent DWI convictions
3) $2000 each year for any blood or breath test results of 0.16 or higher, regardless of DWI conviction.
The Texas DPS will make payment arrangements with installments if you cannot pay the full amount up front. This must be initiated within 30 days of the notice being sent (regardless of when you received it – the time is from when it was “sent”). If you do not pay or make arrangements for installments in this time period, your license will be suspended until the surcharge is paid.