Liability Insurance in Texas Injury Accidents
Liability Insurance Required for all Texas Drivers:
Auto Liability insurance in Texas is the one insurance that you are required to purchase if you drive an automobile. Texas Transportation Code section 601.051 is the financial responsibility law in Texas. This coverage is required to protect others in case you are negligent and cause damage or injury to someone or something else through your negligence.
Liability insurance covers you as the driver or owner from liability claims that others may have against you if you were to be found at fault in a collision.
Currently, Texas Transportation Code section 601.072 sets the minimum liability insurance limits in Texas at 30/60/25. Translated, this means that if someone has minimum limits required by Texas law they have up to $30,000.00 to cover a single person's injury, up to $60,000.00 if multiple people are injured (for example, if 4 people are seriously injured, they would have to split $60,000.00 four ways). No single person could get over $30,000.00.
The 25 on the end stands for the amount of property damage coverage - $25,000.00. Which means that if you total out someone's new Mercedes, you might not have enough insurance coverage to pay for their vehicle.
Who is Covered:
Texas Transportation Code Sec. 601.076 states that an owner's motor vehicle liability insurance policy must:
(1) cover each motor vehicle for which coverage is to be granted under the policy; and
(2) pay, on behalf of the named insured or another person who, as insured, uses a covered motor vehicle with the express or implied permission of the named insured, amounts the insured becomes obligated to pay as damages arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use of the motor vehicle in the United States or Canada, subject to the amounts, excluding interest and costs, and exclusions of Section 601.072.
Penalties for No Auto Insurance:
License suspensions, surcharges and fines: If you drive without auto liability insurance in Texas and are involved in a collision, in addition to fines, and a judgment, your license can be suspended in several different ways and you are subject to fines and surcharges. If the police come to the scene, they will give you a "no insurance" ticket, which if convicted, will result in your license being suspended. If you have previously had no insurance tickets, and your license was suspended, and you are driving without insurance or a valid license, the police may cite you with Driving While License Invalid (DWLI), or Driving With Your License Suspended (DWLS), and you are convicted, your license will be suspended. If the person you cause injury or damage to files a judgment against you personally (because you have no insurance), or if their insurance company files a judgment against you, they will file a copy with the State of Texas DPS and your license will be suspended until the judgment is somehow taken care of. No insurance findings will cause the State of Texas to make you pay a "surcharge" of several hundred dollars per year to keep your license. If you do not pay this surcharge, your license will be suspended. Often, it is the insurance issue that causes most drivers license issues in Texas.
Types of Coverage in Automobile Injury Cases:
Automobile Liability Insurance, Uninsured Motorist Insurance, Personal Injury Protection (PIP), Medpay Insurance, Property Damage & Collision Coverages for Your Auto
Personal Injury Areas We Help With Are:Auto Accident and Injury Cases, Personal Injury Cases, 18 Wheeler & Commercial Vehicle Injury Accident Cases, Motorcycle Accident and Injury Cases, Wrongful Death Cases, Pedestrian Injured by Automobile Cases, Slip and Fall & Premises Cases, Workplace & Constructions Injury Cases, Dog Bite Injury Cases, Bicyclers Hit by Automobile Cases .
By Doug Goyen, email@example.com