Texas Texting and Driving Law goes into effect on September 1, 2017, by Dallas car accident lawyer Doug Goyen
The Dallas Morning News and Fort Worth Star Telegram have both reported that Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has signed into law a ban on texting while driving effective September 1, 2017 in the State of Texas.
The law will ban drivers from texting while their car is moving. The penalties will range from $25 to $200 for repeaters.
The reports indicate that hundreds of people are killed, and thousands are confirmed injured each year from texting and driving in the State of Texas.
Texting and driving is a danger to all of us. Hopefully this legislation will help shine more light on the problem in Texas and help save lives. If we don't send a message to people that texting and driving is wrong, and if we don't hold those who cause damage, injury, and death accountable for the damage, injury, and death that texting and driving causes, then the message sent to those texting drivers is that we are fine with them texting while driving. Do we want to send that message? We want to send the message that in Texas, if you damage, injure someone, or kill someone while texting and driving, you will be held accountable. We want to send the message that the safety of our loved ones driving on the road is more important than your "LOL" text. Your texts can wait until you pull over to a parked position to read and reply.
Our firm alone hears from hundreds of people each year from those who have been damaged, injured or killed by texting and driving. We have experience holding those people and their insurance companies accountable for their texting and driving. Call (972) 599 4100 if you want a Dallas car accident lawyer who will work hard for you to hold the insurance company responsible for the damage and injury done by their driver.